The Dayton Kitchen

Eating well. So get ready and get butter.

Just say NO! to boiled beets August 8, 2008

Filed under: in the kitchen,scoring good food — pameladayton @ 6:36 pm
Tags:

Really, people. Think outside the pot of boiling water for your veggies, especially this time of year when it’s super easy to get veggies fresh from the ground.

Two years ago, we joined Porter Farms CSA. (Not sure about CSA? Read this.) I am not a fussy eater. There are three things I can’t stomach (olives of any color, brussel sprouts, eggs), but beyond that I am game to try new foods. But there were some vegetables the Porters provided that I was not so sure I was going to like. Beets were one. I had only ever eaten blechy, rubbery, boiled beets, and had formed quite the negative opinion.

But one day, when I had my wits about me as was getting dinner ready early, I had a bright idea. I was wrapping my potatoes in foil to bake them, and thought to myself, Self, potatoes grow in the ground. Beets grow in the ground. I bet I could bake the beets in foil just like to potatoes.

I am not going to claim that this roasted/baked/ovened beets idea came exclusively from me. But I will claim this: It is highly likely that you will never eat another boiled beet again. And, it is equally likely that you will fall completely in love with the sweet, sweet taste and lovely texture that is a roasted beet.

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Scrub your beets.  Trim off any bits of stalk.  Wrap in aluminum foil
  3. Place foil-wrapped beets on a cookie sheet that has raised sides.  Sometimes the beets release lots of juice.
  4. Bake for at least an hour, more than 1 1/2 hours is too much.
  5. Cut ends off beets, slip skins when cool enough to handle.
  6. Slice beets, and enjoy.  You could butter and salt and pepper them, but you sure don’t need to.
 

Leave a Reply

