The Dayton Kitchen

Eating well. So get ready and get butter.

rice April 28, 2008

Filed under: in the kitchen — pameladayton @ 1:13 pm

I am putting not much effort into this post, because Alanna at A Veggie Venture and the folks at Cook’s have already done a bang-up job. 

We are Carb People.  And in an effort to eat better, we switched to brown rice.  I don’t have a lot (read: any) patience for watching water boil, and stirring, and stuff, so after burning rice to a very unnatural and crisp and stinky state, I discovered this recipe, and I lovelovelove it.  And so will you.

Try this:  instead of rice, or in addition to rice, use a variety of other whole grains like barley, wild rice, millet, or wheat kernels.  The result is a wonderfully flavorful dish with a nice conglomeration of texture.

Try this, part 2:  I don’t bring the water to boiling before adding it to the rice.  And the rice has been received with cheers of joy from the kiddos, so I happily leave that step out.

Try this, part fin:  Bouillon.  Cubes.  Or the other kind, whatever that is.  It’s more flavorful than salt, and it keeps the Mister and the kiddos from getting out the salt shaker.  I am not so much in favor of the salt shaker, but that is another subject for another day.  The end.

 

 

2 Responses to “rice”

  1. Alanna Says:

    So you just cover the rice with water and go? THAT would be a great simplification!

    PS I’m thrilled that you love this rice, me too!

  2. pameladayton Says:

    That’s it, cover and go. I heart simple!


Leave a Reply

